The Team

At First Fresh we guarantee excellence right through the supply chain - that's our Tree to Trolley philosophy.

First Fresh product managers are responsible for seeing individual crops  through the entire marketing process, from procurement to packing to marketing. Each product manager is in expert in his field, knows their product inside out and has spent years developing and nurturing relationships right across the supply chain.

For both growers and distributors this means dealing with one manager who's sole purpose is to deliver outstanding product, superior customer service and expert advice. It's smart, simple and that's just the way we like it.


Bill Thorpe

Date: Established First Fresh in 1989
Position:Chairman of First Fresh
Email:bill.thorpe@firstfresh.co.nz
Phone:+64 6 869 2130
Cell: +64 21 222 0163

Ian Albers

Date: Joined First Fresh in 2000
Position:Managing Director of First Fresh
Crop Responsibilities:Kiwifruit, Citrus export
Email:ian.albers@firstfresh.co.nz
Phone:+64 6 869 2132
Cell: +64 21 285 2596

Brian Pepper

Date: Joined First Fresh in 1998
Position:Product manager and Director of First Fresh
Crop Responsibilities:Persimmons, Subtropical Fruit (Avocado, Feijoa, Tamarillo), Beans, Asparagus
Email:brian.pepper@firstfresh.co.nz
Phone:+64 6 869 2131
Cell: +64 21 285 2597

Phil Croy

Date: Joined First Fresh in 2003
Position:Product manager and Director of First Fresh
Crop Responsibilities:Mandarins, Navel Oranges, Valencia Oranges
Email:phil.croy@firstfresh.co.nz
Phone:+64 6 869 2136
Cell: +64 21 289 7950

David Stevenson

Date: Joined First Fresh in February 2015
Position:Product Manager
Crop Responsibilities:Meyer Lemons, Yen Ben Lemons, Limes, Grapefruit, Tangelos
Email:david.stevenson@firstfresh.co.nz
Phone:+64 6 869 2140
Cell: +64 21 285 2005

Matthew Carter

Date: Joined First Fresh in March 2014
Position:Technical Manager
Email:matthew.carter@firstfresh.co.nz
Phone:+64 6 869 2139
Cell: +64 21 242 0051

Mathew Bannister

Date: Joined First Fresh in November 2013
Position:Compliance Co-ordinator
Email:mathew.bannister@firstfresh.co.nz
Phone:+64 6 869 2137
Cell: +64 21 222 0393

Justine Hurlstone

Date: Joined First Fresh in 2012
Position:Marketing and Administration
Email:justine.hurlstone@firstfresh.co.nz
Phone:+64 6 869 2141
Cell:

Barbara Laing

Date: Joined First Fresh in April 2017
Position:Sales Co-ordinator
Email:barbara.laing@firstfresh.co.nz
Phone:+64 6 869 2142
Cell: